‘Neng’ Master Stone Carver (Chakapan Ponyong) ~ Thailand ~ Jewellery of the Earth

Neng at his Studio in ChaingMai  Thailand

Neng at his Studio in ChaingMai Thailand

Neng (Chakapan Pongyong) is a Master Stone Carver & Artist who lives in ChaingMai Thailand.  He was born in Kampaeng Phet Thailand in 1968 and studied at ChaingMai University from 1987 – 1994, B.A. (Sculpture) Faculty of Fine Arts.    Neng has had exhibitions all over Thailand since 1990 including ChaingMai University.  He was awarded the Silver Medal at the Silpa Bhirasri Exhibition in Bangkok in 1994.  He has given workshops for UNDP & Tibet Women’s Federation in Lhasa Tibet, China in 2003 and for Qomolangma Nature Presure in Shegar Tibet, China in 2001.  He has worked as an Art Teacher at Wittayakran and  for Orphanned Children by Aids;  World Weave Company Designer Drawings for Construction for Weaving Materials Using Indigeneous Materials & Knowledge for Tribal Communities;  NGO Health Project for Tribal People;  Exhibition Co-Ordinator for 700 years anniversary of ChaingMai Celebrates Art at the Former British Consulate ChaingMai and Museum Study and Comparative Art in Belgium & Netherlands.   Such an impressive background with too much more to expand on in this small blog, an incredibly complex and gifted man.

I was blown away by a display of his stone art carving jewellery pieces which are for sale at a gorgeous silver boutique in ChaingMai. NOVA JEWELLERY COLLECTION  on Tapae Road is one of the most beautiful silver jewellery stores I have ever entered and in one area they offer NENG’s STONE ART CARVINGS as jewellery pieces.  I ended up taking Silver Jewellery Making with Nova while I was there and am now addicted to it, a good addiction to have I think.  However back to NENG’s display….. I inquired if he taught classes in stone carving and was informed he did not.  I persisted and was given his private phone number which I promptly used to persuade Neng to give me a couple of lessons privately.  Such an honor to have been able to study with him, a short two days, but I learned a tremendous amount and was inspired over the moon!   He has the patience of a saint, gentleness and is as grounded as the stones he works with ~ yet a beautiful stillness shines through his eyes and smile.  Truly one of the most gifted artist and very special human being whom I have had the privilege to meet  in my life.  He knows exactly where each river stone came from, even some from Mount Everest base camp.  The Stone People are alive with Neng.  Deep Gratitude for Neng and the gifts which he shared so openly with me!

Anyone wanting to Contact Neng can do so through his email:  tangthai_@hotmail.com    Also through Nova Jewellery Collection at 201 Tapae Road in ChaingMai ~ web site:  http://www.nova-collection.com.  NENG’s  Stone Art Carvings are truly treasures to wear.  Ralph and I feel the blessings of Neng and Thailand when we wear our jewellery pieces.      Below I offer some of the photos taken at Neng’s Studio and his stone creations.

Neng  'Chakapan Ponyong' Master Stone Carver & Artist with our Treasures!

Neng 'Chakapan Ponyong' Master Stone Carver & Artist with our Treasures!

Our Treasures!

Our Treasures!

Neng  at  his Workbench on Deck of his Studio in ChaingMai, Thailand

Neng at his Workbench on Deck of his Studio in ChaingMai, Thailand

My first attempts at stone carving

My first attempts at stone carving

My finished Grizzly Bear Claw  (width 2-3/4" x height  3")

My finished Grizzly Bear Claw (width 2-3/4" x height 3")

Present Collection on display at Nova Jewellery - ChaingMai

Present Collection on display at Nova Jewellery - ChaingMai

The Rahoo Giant - close up

The Rahoo Giant - close up

 

Neng's Studio Carvings

Neng's Studio Carvings

 

The past year in Canada has had some challenging health issues so I haven’t been doing my stone carving yet, but I have been gathering all the tools I need for my studio….. soon I begin again.  I can’t wait to get back to Thailand, which we feel is our second home, to emerse myself in the Thai People, Culture and Beauty!    In the meantime, may Beauty surround you!

~ by tribalstonesjewellery on November 10, 2009.

8 Responses to “‘Neng’ Master Stone Carver (Chakapan Ponyong) ~ Thailand ~ Jewellery of the Earth”

  1. Hi!

    I love his work and would always go look at his magnificent carvings at the Nova shop. I too would like to learn. Could you please share with me what tools he uses and what kind of `head `is neaded for the carving.
    Any info is appreciated 🙂

  2. Thanks Lynn! Neng is a very gifted artist and also an inspirational & patient teacher. If you are in Chaing Mai now or in the future I can give you his contact info. I spent two days with him and experienced many lessons and inspirations! He is a truly beautiful spirt! Neng uses a Fordam Power Tool Head (similar to Dremel) and the interchangeable heads he uses are diamond tipped bits. If you send me an email at tribalstonesjewellery@gmail.com I will see if I can find more information to help you. It may take me sometime to respond as I am recovering from surgery and am in the process of setting up my own studio, woohoo.
    Neng said the type of stones he uses are only RIVER STONES as stones found on the ocean’s edge and other areas are too ‘hard’ and crack very easily when carved. He knows exactly where each and every one of his stones and rocks were found, his friends of the earth!
    Cheers, Lucy

  3. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your website and in depth information you present.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

  4. Great way of observing things – I’m a bit more of a monochrome person, myself

  5. Thanks for your time taken viewing and commenting!
    Neng uses only River Rocks and their colors are ranges of tones and colors of the earth. Nature has a lot of monochromatic beauty also…… There is something for everyone if we take the time to really See…. I take Joy from the differences in all aspects of life. CHEERZ ! Lucy

  6. I for all time emailed this blog post page to all my associates,
    because if like to read it next my links will too.

  7. I know this website provides quality dependent content and other stuff, is there any other website which gives these stuff in quality?

  8. wonderful post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t realize this. You should continue your writing. I am confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

 
