Silver Jewellery Creating …. Getting Started ~ Nova Jewellery Thailand

Well, over a year ago while we were living in Thailand for a while I studied Silver Jewellery making at Nova Jewellery Collection on Tapae Road in Chiang Mai Thailand.  Partly because I absolutely love silver jewellery, there is something very ancient and seems sacred and somehow tribal….. perhaps all the different cultures who have used silver over the recorded history of art and humans.  The other reason was that I was scared and fearful of failure, intimidated by the use of the torch and red hot heat and the precision of the art of it all.  So, all very good reasons to jump in and just do it!  With my husband Ralph giving me gentle nudges and encouragement off I went to the silver studio at Nova, with much trepidation and excitement a good recipe for creating.

As I enjoy design in so many forms, with my background in Interior Design, and exploration of multimedia art projects… I pulled into play my passion for beauty and my Buddhist meditation techniques on staying in the present moment.  Our approximate three months studying Vipassana Insight Meditation at Wat Ram Poeng and Wat Chom Tong turned out to be some of the most challenging times of my life and the most rewarding life satisfying gifts ever!  Being in Thailand with it’s heart centered people, tropical beauty and Buddhist beliefs was a very special place to challenge my self doubts….. and dive in I did!

I spent thirteen day classes with a silver master, Nugoon and his beautiful assistant Junko, and my knowledge, experience and joy increased by leaps and bounds as I finished each new project I ventured on.  The Nova Silver Studio has the ultimate in silver equipment and is set down one of the enchanting lanes off Tapae Road.  I had a lovely walk exploring lunch options and enjoyed delicious adventures daily, where I regaled Ralph with the current inspiration or ‘uh-oh’ topic.  I decided before I began that I would document this as best as I could so that when I get home to Canada I would be able to set up my own wee studio and begin exploring my newborn passion in silver.  So I took notes and photographed every step along each project, and I’m so happy I did as now I have good refresher information and visual reminders of what I did.

When in doubt as to what to design I resort to my favorite image ‘Grizzly Bear Claw’ which resides in my Ojibway blood.  Bear is also our family animal so bear is always a strong and sacred friend for me.  The Grizzly Bear Pendant I created as my first project turned out quite lovely and I wear it constantly with my pride and joy!  My next project design comes from my love of the Buddhist philosophy and the Lotus Flower, which rise up from the mud everywhere….. so the Lotus Flower feeds my passion for beauty and I played with the texturing techniques and learned so much!  You know you are living your passion when time drops away and only the experience in front of you is beating in your heart.  I was in heaven in paradise!

Let me show you some of the photos of the projects in various stages…. so often I said to myself, ‘well, this is ruined’… only to proceed to the next step and it would magically evolve ….. it really is alchemy!

Grizzly Bear Claw & Lotus Flower Pendants

Grizzly Bear Claw (2 in wide x 2-1/2 in ht) & Lotus Flower (2-1/2 in wide x 2 in ht) Pendants

Lotus Flower Pendant ~ Texturing Explorations

Lotus Flower Pendant ~ Texturing Explorations

Lotus Flower Pendant ~ Creating Three Dimensional Textures
Lotus Flower Pendant ~ Creating Three Dimensional Textures
Lotus Flower Pendant  completed

Lotus Flower Pendant completed

Lotus Flowers of Thailand

Lotus Flowers of Thailand

Nova Jewellery Silver Studio

Nova Jewellery Silver Studio

Master Silver Instructor - Nugoon & Lovely Junko, Assistant

Master Silver Instructor - Nugoon & Lovely Junko, Assistant

Ralph's Silver & Lapiz  ~ Birthday Cuff

Ralph's Silver & Lapiz ~ Birthday Cuff

Ralph's Silver & Lapiz Cuff ~ work in progress

Ralph's Silver & Lapiz Cuff ~ work in progress

Ralph's Cuff ~ filing inside edges after cutting out opening

Ralph's Cuff ~ filing inside edges after cutting out opening

Ralph's Silver & Lapiz Cuff ~ work in progress

Ralph's Silver & Lapiz Cuff ~ work in progress

Ralph's Cuff ~ creating bezel for Lapiz feature piece

Ralph's Cuff ~ creating bezel for Lapiz feature piece

Ralph's Cuff ~ after Alum treatment .... looks ruined!

Ralph's Cuff ~ after Alum treatment .... looks ruined!

Ralph's Cuff ~ Lapiz in bezel mounted on Cuff  finishing touches

Ralph's Cuff ~ Lapiz in bezel mounted on Cuff finishing touches

Ralph's Silver Cuff ~ Finished... Shining & Sparkling ... like magic!

Ralph's Silver Cuff ~ Finished... Shining & Sparkling ... like magic!

Ankle Bracelet ~ Two solid silver pieces soldered together

Ankle Bracelet ~ Two solid silver pieces soldered together

Ankle Bracelet ~ work in progress finishing bezel

Ankle Bracelet ~ work in progress finishing bezel

Silver Lotus Flower Pendant, Lapiz Pendant, Ankle Bracelet & Ralph's Cuff (1-1/4 in width)

Silver Lotus Flower Pendant, Lapiz Pendant, Ankle Bracelet & Ralph's Cuff (1-1/4 in width) & Earings

Tibetan Turquoise, Red Coral, Lapiz Lazule ~ Semi-precious Treasures

Tibetan Turquoise, Red Coral, Lapiz Lazule ~ My Semi-precious Treasures

Fire Dancer on Beach at Koh Lanta Yai ~ Spectacular Fire an Inspiration!

Fire Dancer on Beach at Koh Lanta Yai ~ Spectacular Fire an Inspiration!

Well, I hope you have enjoyed a glimpse into my first experiences with Fire & Silver…. it was an incredible journey of passionate expression of inner visions! If you are in Chiang Mai Thailand,  Nova Silver Jewellery is an amazing studio to study with!

~ by tribalstonesjewellery on November 24, 2009.

3 Responses to “Silver Jewellery Creating …. Getting Started ~ Nova Jewellery Thailand”

  1. Stunning, I didn’t heard about this topic until now. Cheers.

  2. Hello, This is Thien from Nova Collection. Would you mind if I share this blog post and use your photos of our workshop on our website ? The step by step of your jewelry is excellent.

  3. Hi there! Yes, I would be pleased to give any people interested in silver jewellery a bit of my experiences at Nova Jewellery Collection. It always seems like magic when a piece of flat sheet silver becomes a piece of personal art to wear!
    Cheers to Creativity, Lucy at tribalstonesjewellery@wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
